Denis Sosyura

Associate Professor
TEMPE Campus


Denis Sosyura joins the W. P. Carey School of Business after serving on the faculty of the University of Michigan's Ross School of Business. After completing his bachelor's degree in finance in his native Ukraine, he earned his MBA at Vanderbilt University and his doctorate at Yale University. His primary research focus is on empirical corporate finance and political economy. 

His work has been published in leading academic journals, including Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics, and Review of Financial Studies. He has received seven best paper awards from leading academic conferences. 

Sosyura's teaching has been recognized by nominations for numerous awards, including the Economist Intelligence Unit Business Professor of the Year Award, Provost Prize for Teaching Innovation, Golden Apple Teaching Award, and the MBA Teaching Excellence Award. 

Research Interests

  • Empirical Corporate Finance
  • Political Economy and Regulation
  • Financial Media


  • Best Paper Award  University of Washington Summer Finance Conference, 2016
  • Best Paper Award  IDC-Herzliya Finance Conference, 2016
  • Distinguished Referee Award  Review of Financial Studies, 2016
  • Best Paper Award  Arizona State UniversitySonoran Winter Finance Conference, 2016
  • NBD Bancorp Chaired Assistant Professorship  University of Michigan, 2013
  • NTT Research Fellowship  University of Michigan, 2012
  • Best Paper Award  Napa Conference on Financial Markets, 2011
  • Citigroup Best Paper Award  Indian School of Business Summer Conference, 2010
  • Best Paper Award in Corporate Finance  Asian Finance Association, 2010
  • Best Paper Award  La Trobe Finance and Governance Conference, 2010