Executive of the Year honorees

Each year, the W. P. Carey School’s Dean’s Council honors a business leader whose contribution is recognized as significant to the nation and the world, whose inspired leadership has created and sustained superior organizational performance, and whose achievements exemplify a model for future leaders.

2021 Sheryl Palmer
Chairman and CEO, Taylor Morrison Home Group Corp.

2020 D. Christian “Chris” Koch
Chairman, President and CEO, Carlisle Companies Incorporated

2019 Doug Parker
CEO, American Airlines

2018 Terri Kelly
President and CEO, W. L. Gore & Associates Inc.

2017 Edward J. "Joe" Shoen
Chairman and CEO, U-Haul International

2016 John H. Hammergren
Chairman, President, and CEO, McKesson Corp.

2014-2015 Christopher L. Mapes
Chairman, President, and CEO, Lincoln Electric Holdings Inc.

2013 Jim Davidson
Co-Founder, Managing Partner and Managing Director, Silver Lake Partners

2012 Retired Maj. Gen. Josue “Joe” Robles
President and CEO, USAA

2011 Dr. Irwin Jacobs
Co-founder, Qualcomm Inc.

2010 Richard Adkerson
President and CEO, Freeport-McMoRan Inc.

2009 Alan Mulally
President and CEO, Ford Motor Co.

2008 Michael Ahearn
Chairman and CEO, First Solar Inc.

2007 Richard M. Kovacevich
Chairman and CEO, Wells Fargo & Co.

2006 Brian Walker
President and CEO, Herman Miller Inc.

2005 Meg Whitman
CEO, eBay Inc.

2004 Howard Schultz
Chairman and Chief Global Strategist, Starbucks Coffee Co.

2003 Michael Dell
Chairman and CEO, Dell Inc.

2002 Philip L. Francis
Chairman and CEO, PetSmart Inc.

2001 Bruce T. Halle
Owner and Founder, Discount Tire Co. Inc.

2000 Roy A. Vallee
Chairman and CEO, Avnet Inc.

1999 Michael Bonsignore
Chairman and CEO, Honeywell

1998 Lawrence A. Bossidy
Chairman and CEO, AlliedSignal Inc.

1997 Roberto C. Goizueta
Chairman and CEO, The Coca-Cola Co.

1996 Dr. Craig R. Barrett
President, Intel Corp.

1995 George M. C. Fisher
Chairman, President, and CEO, Eastman Kodak Co.

1994 Herb Kelleher
Chairman, President, and CEO, Southwest Airlines

1993 C. Michael Armstrong
Chairman and CEO, Hughes Aircraft Corp.

1992 John McCoy
Chairman and CEO, Banc One Corp.

1991 Peter Ueberroth
Chairman, The Contrarian Group

1990 Mike Quinlan
Chairman and CEO, McDonald’s Corp.

1989 William Dillard
Chairman and CEO, Dillard’s Inc.

1988 David M. Roderick
Chairman and CEO, USX Corp.

1987 Edmund B. Fitzgerald
Chairman, Northern Telecom Ltd.

1986 Charles M. Harper
Chairman and CEO, ConAgra Foods Inc.

1985 James D. Robinson, III
Chairman and CEO, American Express

1984 Robert W. Galvin
Chairman and CEO, Motorola Inc.

1983 Dr. Andrew S. Grove
President, Intel Corp.