Greatness in business comes with extensive experience, commitment, and perseverance. The W. P. Carey School of Business is proud to recognize the excellence of leaders from the local, national, and international business community.

Faculty awards and recognition

Altaf Ahmad
Information Systems
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award
Eddie Davila
Supply Chain Management
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award
Nancy Gray
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Service to Students Award
John Eaton
John W. Teets Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award
Caitlin Ostrander
Supply Chain Management and Business Analytics
John W. Teets Outstanding Undergraduate Assistant Award
John Dietrich
John W. Teets Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award
Andrea Morales
Faculty Research Award
Scott Webster
Supply Chain Management
Faculty Research Award

Turken Family Outstanding Graduating Senior Award

Recipients of the Turken Family Outstanding Graduating Senior Award are well-rounded students who display strong academic achievement and exemplary qualities of leadership and service. In 2000, the Sam and Ida Turken Charitable Foundation established an endowment to fund this award.

2017-2018 recipients  
Victoria Crynes May 2018
Gilberto Sosa and Homero Sosa Mendoza December 2017

Executive of the Year

Each year the W. P. Carey School Dean's Council honors a business leader whose contribution is recognized as significant, whose inspired management has created and sustained superior organizational performance, and whose presence exemplifies a model for future business leaders. Executive of the Year recipients are pioneers in the home computing, telecommunications, automotive, Internet, solar energy, aviation, and retail industries.

The 2018 Executive of the Year is Terri Kelly, President and CEO of W. L. Gore & Associates Inc.

Distinguished Scholars

A portion of Dean’s Council annual membership contributions support faculty members through the Distinguished Scholar program. The Dean’s Council Distinguished Scholar award is presented to faculty who have demonstrated the highest levels of excellence in scholarship, both research and teaching, throughout their careers.

Alumni Hall of Fame

Established in 1977, the W. P. Carey Alumni Hall of Fame recognizes alumni who have demonstrated leadership and achievement in their fields and in the community.

2017-2018 recipients
Scott Donaldson
Accountancy ’80, MACC ’81
Partner at Ernst and Young & Director, Exempt Organization Tax Services
Sondra Lehman
Accountancy ’88
Former COO of Sky Chefs, Inc.
Michael Staenberg
Business Administration ’76
Founder & President, the Staenberg Group

Lawrence R. Klein Award for Blue Chip Forecast Accuracy

An annual honor for economic forecasting accuracy, the W. P. Carey School of Business presents the Lawrence R. Klein Award in association with the nationally recognized Blue Chip Economic Indicators newsletter.

2018 Klein Award recipient
Ellen Zentner
Chief U.S. economist and managing director
Morgan Stanley

Spirit of Enterprise Award

The Spirit of Enterprise Award is Arizona’s premier celebration of entrepreneurship. For more than two decades, the W. P. Carey School has recognized businesses that positively impact our economy while exhibiting ethics, energy, and excellence in entrepreneurship.

2018 Spirit of Enterprise winner
Tomas Gorny Founder and CEO, Nextiva