Department of Finance - Bettis Scholars

Bettis Scholars

Mark Stapp

The Carr and Stephanie Bettis Distinguished Scholar Award Program makes it possible for top-notch finance researchers to spend one week in residence at Arizona State University to contribute to intellectual discourse in the W. P. Carey School of Business Department of Finance.

Every year, one or two Bettis Scholars are invited to give a seminar presentation to department faculty and students and a lecture to doctoral students on topics of their choosing. The scholarship includes a $5,000 honorarium.


The Carr and Stephanie Bettis Distinguished Scholar Award Program's 2016 Bettis Scholar is Andrew Karolyi, Alumni Professor in Asset Management at Cornell University’s Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management.

Professor Karolyi is an internationally-known scholar in the area of investment management, with a specialization in the study of international financial markets. He has published extensively in journals in finance and economics, including the Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics and Review of Financial Studies, and has published several books and monographs. His research has been covered extensively in print and electronic media, including The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, The Economist, Time, New York Times, Washington Post, Forbes, BusinessWeek, and CNBC.

He currently serves as executive editor of the Review of Financial Studies, one of the top-tier journals in finance. He is and has also served as an associate editor for a variety of journals, including the Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics, Journal of Empirical Finance, Journal of Banking and Finance, Review of Finance and the Pacific Basin Finance Journal.

Professor Karolyi is a recipient of the Fama/DFA Prize for Capital Markets and Asset Pricing (2005), the William F. Sharpe Award for Scholarship in Finance (2001), the Journal of Empirical Finance's Biennial Best Paper Prize (2006), the Fisher College of Business' Pace Setter Awards for Excellence in Research and Graduate Teaching and Johnson's Prize for Excellence in Research in 2010.

He joined Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management in 2009, after teaching for 19 years at the Fisher College of Business of The Ohio State University. He leads various executive education programs in the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Asia, and is actively involved in consulting with corporations, banks, investment firms, stock exchanges, and law firms. He currently chairs the board of trustees and is past president of the Financial Management Association International and has served as a director of the American Finance Association.

Professor Karolyi received his BA (Honors) in economics from McGill University in 1983 and worked at the Bank of Canada for several years in its research department. He subsequently earned his MBA and PhD degrees in finance at the Graduate School of Business of the University of Chicago.

Previous Bettis Scholars include Professors Brad Barber, UC Davis; Professors Ravi Bansal, Duke University; Peter DeMarzo, Stanford University; Philip E. Strahan, Boston College; Richard C. Green, Carnegie Mellon University; Maureen O’Hara, Cornell University; Randall Morck, University of Alberta; Wayne Ferson, University of Southern California; and Kose John and David Yermack, New York University.

Carr and Stephanie Bettis, who created the program, founded Gradient Analytics, Inc., one of the country’s leading independent financial research firms, which employs ASU finance graduates.

The program is in line with their belief in the importance of giving back to the community, which they’ve both done by taking active roles in various charitable and philanthropic efforts.

“We’re fond of ASU,” Carr explains, “and our business ventures have been born out of technologies steeped in financial economics work. A visiting scholars program has real merit because it brings top-tier faculty from other universities here. They get exposure to the Tempe campus and what’s happening in the Finance Department. At the same time, faculty and students get a chance to learn from academic researchers who are leading the way in financial economics knowledge creation.”

To learn more the Carr and Stephanie Bettis Distinguished Scholar Award Program, see page 4 of the 2007-2008 issue of Finance Forum .

For further information about other seminars sponsored by the Department of Finance that are open to the public, refer to the Seminar Series.