Accounting PhD program

The School of Accountancy offers an accounting concentration within the W. P. Carey PhD in Business Administration degree program. The primary objective of the PhD in Accounting is to train students to do academic research in accounting and to prepare for a career in academia at major research universities.

If you have any questions about our program or the admission process, please contact Phil Lamoreaux, PhD Program Director.

Admissions deadlines (early submissions are encouraged):

  • September 15: Applications open for admission for the following academic year
  • December 15: Early review deadline
  • January 31: Application deadline

PhD curriculum

The doctoral program in accounting provides a challenging course of study in the most recent developments in both the theoretical and empirical aspects of accounting. The accounting coursework, along with courses in economics, econometrics, statistics, psychology, and finance, prepares you for the understanding and critical analysis of current issues in accounting.

Faculty expertise

The accounting faculty at ASU has expertise in a broad range of topics and methodologies. The faculty has published extensively in the top accounting journals and ranks as one of the most productive research faculties in the world. Below are some of the interesting topics and areas of expertise faculty members examine with their research.

PhD placement data

Success in our program will make you a competitive candidate for faculty positions at many great research universities. Since 2007, our PhD students in accounting have taken faculty positions at the following universities:

  • Texas A&M University
  • Indiana University
  • University of Miami
  • University of Arizona
  • Penn State University
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Massachusetts – Amherst
  • City University of Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Singapore Management University
  • McGill University
  • American University
  • University of Illinois – Chicago
  • George Mason University