Department of Marketing - Student Highlights

Student Highlights

Congratulations Sports Business Association!
The Sports Business Association received the 2012-13 Student Organization of the Year Award at the W.P. Carey Business School Council Awards annual banquet in April.  Professor of Marketing John Eaton is the faculty advisor to the Sports Business Association.  The Sports Business Association was recognized for its outstanding activities, and in particular the Industry Advisory Panel that meets directly with students.  In addition, Christian Portaro was recognized with the Emerging Leader award.  Christian will be the Sports Business Association's vice president in the next academic year.  Congratulations to the Sports Business Association students, John Eaton, and Christian!

Congratulations to Elise Riker
Elise Riker, a doctoral student in the Marketing Department, is a recipient of the 2012 ACR/Sheth Foundation Dissertation Grant in the area of Public Purpose Consumer Research. Elise will be recognized at the 2012 Association for Consumer Research (ACR) North American Conference in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, in October. The Sheth Foundation is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to develop and recognize scholars and scholarship in marketing globally and further the development of marketing thought. This prestigious grant will go to the support Elise's dissertation research in the area of public purpose consumer research.

Team Picture

LifeLine Innovations Team Wins Highest Honors
Under the guidance of Michael Denning, Marketing Professor of Practice,  the LifeLine Innovations team beat out 16 other semifinalists, including John Hopkins and Purdue, to capture the championship at the University of Oregon's Lundquist School of Business's New Venture Championship, one of the top three MBA business plan competitions in North America.  Members of the LifeLine Innovations team, Dr. Praveen Alamuri (PhD in biodesign), Dr. Matthew Hayden (MD & MPH), Tyler Garrett, and Rohit Sarin, are all W.P. Carey Evening MBA students.  Their concept is to commercialize the license from the ASU foundation through AzTE (Skysong) for a disruptive oral immunization technology that utilizes harmless bacteria to carry viruses into the body rather than the current dated method of growing injected vaccines in eggs.  They received $25,000.00 for their company start-up and a large trophy which is on display in the MBA Program Office.

Scholarship Awards

Marketing Department Scholarship Awards 2013
On Wednesday, May 1, 2013 the Marketing Department held its Annual Awards and Scholarships Reception at the ASU University Club.  Over 30 scholarships and awards were presented to undergraduate, MBA, and Ph.D. students. 

In addition to long-standing scholarships, four new scholarships were presented - the Kenneth L. Rowe Memorial Scholarship, endowed this year by Martin Lentz; the Digital Shingle Marketing Scholarships, established by Bret and Stacey Giles; the MicroAge Marketing Scholarship, facilitated by Mark McKeever, key supporter of the W.P. Carey School of Business and the Department of Marketing; and the Willefert Schmalbach Scholarship, established by Jeff Willefert and Sebastien Schmalbach, both undergraduate alumni of the Department of Marketing.

Awards Recipients

Undergraduate Awards
Nicole Foster
Bissell Pohl Scholar
Kelly Miles
Cardinal Healthcare Scholar
Melissa Brandle
Cardinal Healthcare Scholar
Nathan Mortensen
Digital Shingle Scholar
Tyler Paplham
Digital Shingle Scholar
Gregory Rudolph
Digital Shingle Scholar
Rachel Van West
Digital Shingle Scholar
Joseph Solita
Dillman Smith Scholar
Meredith Oechsner Duncan Jennings Scholar
Kelsey Herrold
Edward M. Carson Outstanding Marketing Student
Alexa Goldman
Edward M. Carson Outstanding Marketing Student
Matthew Cowan
Kenn Rowe Scholar
Kimberly Quinonez
Manufacturers' Representative Scholar
Rachel Chada
Martin Lentz Marketing Scholar
Alea Becwar
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Ruth Berk
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Brian Caldwell
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Jason Heckendorn
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Taylor Michaels
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Parker Poole
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Nicholas Tsonis
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Samuel Wegner
Robert & Olene Zacher Scholar
Kara Wilton
Lonnie Ostrom Scholar
Ashley Rosselli
MicroAge Marketing Scholar
Catherine Chan
Pat Tillman Scholar
Sam Haghgoo
Roger Hagel Scholar
Chloe Flanagan
Western Association of Food Chains Scholar
Lexis Townsend   
Western Association of Food Chains Scholar
Bennett Dwosh 
Willefert Schmalbach Scholarship
MBA Awards
JJ Perino
Edward M. Carson Outstanding MBA Student
Brett Turk
MBA Excellence Award
Morgan Stradling
Manufacturers' Representatives MBA Scholar

Ph.D. Awards    
Scott Cowley
Louis Grossman Life Leader Award
Ranjit Magendraraj
Coney Research Award
Daniele Mathras Coney Teaching Award
Chadwick Miller
Coney Research and Teaching Awards