Media Relations

February 18, 2016

W. P. Carey School dean elected to international business school accreditation board

Professor Amy Hillman, dean of the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University, has been elected to the board of directors of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International. Her two-year term begins on July 1, 2016. Hillman joins five other inductees representing academe and business from across the nation.

AACSB International is the foremost accrediting agency for undergraduate, master’s and doctoral degrees in business and accounting internationally. The association has more than 1,450 member institutions, businesses and other organizations and accredits 755 business schools across 51 countries and territories. AACSB International accreditation represents the highest standard of achievement for business schools globally. The W. P. Carey School of Business achieved AACSB accreditation in 1962.

"I'm excited to be a part of the organization shaping the future of, and assuring the rigor of, collegiate schools of business,” said Hillman. “It's a great opportunity to share what we are doing here at the W. P. Carey School and learn from peers all over the globe.”

Hillman is the Rusty Lyon Chair of Strategy at the school and a world-renowned management expert, popular teacher and noted researcher. She is a former editor of the world’s number one scholarly management journal in terms of citation impact, Academy of Management Review, as well as a former associate editor of Academy of Management Journal. Her research has been published in many leading academic journals as well as featured in mainstream media. She joined the W. P. Carey School in 2001, becoming dean in December 2013.

“This is an exciting time to serve on the AACSB International board of directors as we have many compelling initiatives underway and many more we are only beginning to uncover as we move forward with an aggressive strategic change agenda for the organization,” said Tom Robinson, president and CEO of AACSB. “We look forward to Amy’s valued leadership.”