Sports Business Scholars

Sports Business Scholars is an exclusive program for select undergraduate students, offering targeted professional development opportunities to prepare for careers in the sports industry. All scholars participate in a mentorship program, where they are matched with a W. P. Carey Sports Advisory Board member or other sports industry executive as their mentor.

Meetings are held twice a month and include workshops on personal branding, networking, interview technique, and resumes. Scholars are also paired up to teach other members on all available sports industry career paths. Company visits and conference calls with sports executives also take place during the school year. The 2016 outreach trip was in New York City and included visits to all major sports leagues, MSG, ESPN, FanDuel, and The Players Tribune.

Program selection

Applications for the 2018–19 academic year will be available online from late January to mid-February. Please check back during that time to find a live link to the application.

Sports Business Scholars is a competitive program. To be considered, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Declared BA in sports and media studies, or a BS degree and obtaining a certificate in sports business
  • Entering sophomore, junior, or senior year
  • 3.0 GPA or above

2017–2018 Sports Business Scholars

  • Sam Minton — President
  • Matthew Shwayder — Vice President, Communications
  • Nicholas Staloch — Vice President, Operations
  • Bailey Huggins
  • Chen Zhao
  • Cort Wolleat
  • Cstevi Owens
  • Dean Diepholz
  • Delilah Cassidy
  • Donovan Smith
  • Evan Coco
  • Jacqueline Benson
  • Jake Weinbaum
  • Joey Daly
  • Jacqueline Sherry
  • Joey Vore
  • Luke Botta
  • Sherrick Bader
  • Sydney Sprenger
  • Walker McCrae
  • Zack McCarty

Sports Advisory Board

The ASU Sports Advisory Board is made up of exceptional leaders who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the Greater Phoenix sports business community. Members are committed to mentoring our students, assisting the program with curriculum decisions, and providing programming and career support.

  • Ray Artigue, Cardon Global
  • Neda Barrie, Allison + Partners Public Relations
  • Kate Foley, Octagon
  • Melissa Goldenberg, Phoenix Suns
  • Brett Hansen, FOX Sports Arizona
  • John Hogg, PepsiCo
  • Mike Iaquinta, Arizona Cardinals
  • Bill Kennedy, ASU Athletics
  • Gary Knudson, AdSport
  • John Pierce
  • Devney Preuss, Phoenix Community Alliance & Downtown Phoenix
  • Josh Rawitch, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Nicole Taylor, Position Sports
  • Mark Tudi, SportSearch
  • Debbie Waitkus, Golf for Cause & National Women's Golf Alliance
  • Trent Wilfinger, EXOS (formerly Athletes' Performance)