Greatness in business comes with extensive experience, commitment, and perseverance. The W. P. Carey School of Business is proud to recognize the excellence of leaders from the local, national, and international business community.

Faculty awards and recognition

Nancy Cassidy
John W. Teets Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award
Sangho Chae
Supply Chain Management
John W. Teets Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award
Kathryn Eaton
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award
Matthew Sopha
Information Systems
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award
John P. Eaton
Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Service to Students Award
Yili "Kevin" Hong
Information Systems
Faculty Research Award

Turken Family Outstanding Graduating Senior Award

Recipients of the Turken Family Outstanding Graduating Senior Award are well-rounded students who display strong academic achievement and exemplary qualities of leadership and service. In 2000, the Sam and Ida Turken Charitable Foundation established an endowment to fund this award.

2017-2018 recipients  
Gilberto Sosa and Homero Sosa Mendoza December 2017
Coming soon May 2018

Executive of the Year

Each year the W. P. Carey School Dean's Council honors a business leader whose contribution is recognized as significant, whose inspired management has created and sustained superior organizational performance, and whose presence exemplifies a model for future business leaders. Executive of the Year recipients are pioneers in the home computing, telecommunications, automotive, Internet, solar energy, aviation, and retail industries.

The 2018 Executive of the Year is Terri Kelly, President and CEO of W. L. Gore & Associates Inc.

Distinguished Scholars

A portion of Dean’s Council annual membership contributions support faculty members through the Distinguished Scholar program. The Dean’s Council Distinguished Scholar award is presented to faculty who have demonstrated the highest levels of excellence in scholarship, both research and teaching, throughout their careers.

Alumni Hall of Fame

Established in 1977, the W. P. Carey Alumni Hall of Fame recognizes alumni who have demonstrated leadership and achievement in their fields and in the community.

2016-2017 recipients  
Tariq Jesrai
MBA ‘91
Retired Chairman and CEO Doncasters Group Inc.
David J. Larcher
BS Finance ‘82
Founding Principal and president, Vestar
Guisheng Yang
MBA ’07, DBA ‘15
Chairman, Shanghai Genius Advanced Material (Group) Co. Ltd.

Lawrence R. Klein Award for Blue Chip Forecast Accuracy

An annual honor for economic forecasting accuracy, the W. P. Carey School of Business presents the Lawrence R. Klein Award in association with the nationally recognized Blue Chip Economic Indicators newsletter.

2016 Klein Award recipient
Dean Maki
Managing Director and Chief Economist
Point72 Asset Management

Spirit of Enterprise Awards

The Spirit of Enterprise Awards is Arizona’s premier celebration of entrepreneurship. For more than two decades, the W. P. Carey School has recognized businesses that positively impact our economy while exhibiting ethics, energy, and excellence in entrepreneurship.

2016 Spirit of Enterprise winners  
Heidi Jannenga The Spirit of Enterprise National Founder of the Year
EndoVantage The Charles Hahn Foundation Emerging Enterprise Award
U-Haul International, Inc. The Special Achievement in Entrepreneurship Award
Emailage The BBVA Compass Innovation in Entrepreneurship Award
SWIMkids USA The Social Impact Award
Bayless Health Care The Gary L. Trujillo Minority Enterprise Award, sponsored by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona